

Vol. 21 ■ No. 12 ■ December 2023

MOR-GRAN-SOU ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE

MANAGER'S MESSAGE: A LOOK AT 2024



As we approach the most wonderful time of the year, we wanted to take a moment to extend our warmest holiday greetings to each and every one of you. The Christmas season is a time for reflection, gratitude and joy, and I hope you find the space to enjoy these moments with your loved ones.

This holiday season also marks the beginning of a new year, filled with fresh possibilities and exciting opportunities. As we embrace the festive spirit and bid farewell to this year, let's also look forward to the challenges and achievements awaiting us in the next. In the coming year, we will have the chance to

make a significant impact on our organization by selecting members for our board of directors. Our board plays a crucial role in shaping the direction of our cooperative, and I encourage you to consider taking on this important responsibility.

Serving on the board of directors is not only a great way to contribute to the growth and success of our organization, but it's also an excellent opportunity to develop leadership skills, broaden your horizons and work closely with a dedicated group of individuals who share your passion for our mission.

In the weeks ahead, Mor-Gran-Sou Electric Cooperative will be sharing more information about the nomination and election process. I encourage you to reach out to current board members if you have any questions or would like to learn more about what it entails. Whether you decide to run for the board or support your fellow members in their pursuit, your engagement in this process is vital to our collective success.

As we celebrate the holiday season and prepare to welcome the new year, I want to express my gratitude to the current directors and our employees on their hard work, dedication and unwavering commitment to our cooperative. Your contributions are what make us a great team. I have no doubt we will continue to achieve remarkable things in the year ahead.

May this holiday season be filled with laughter and cherished moments, and may the coming year bring us all the success and growth for which we aim. We look forward to what lies ahead and the incredible journey we will embark on together.

Warmest wishes for a merry Christmas and a happy New Year!

Jason Bentz, Co-General Manager/ CEO

Mor-Gran-Sou Electric 202 6th Ave. W. – P.O. Box 297 Flasher, ND 58535-0297 701-597-3301 | 701-663-0297 1-800-750-8212 info@morgransou.com

Underground Line Locates Toll-free: 1-800-795-0555 or 811 Officers and Directors Chair..... Steve Tomac Vice Chair..... Chad Harrison Secretary-Treasurer..... Pam Geiger

Directors: Mark Doll, Rodney Froelich, Bob J. Leingang, Ryan Petrick, Kathy Tokach, Casey Wells



Co-General Managers/CEOs: Travis Kupper Jason Bentz





HELP SHAPE THE FUTURE OF MOR-GRAN-SOU ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE

Are you looking for a way to serve the people of western North Dakota? Look no further, as Mor- Gran-Sou Electric Cooperative can help you fulfill that desire with director positions as well as bylaw and resolutions now being accepted for the annual meeting scheduled for June 13, 2024.

Board of director elections

A Mor-Gran-Sou Electric director term is a three-year commitment. Directors are limited to serving six consecutive three-year terms. A director then is not eligible for another six consecutive three-year terms until one year has elapsed. The following board positions will be elected at the upcoming annual meeting:

- At-Large director position presently held by Steve Tomac
- Morton County director position presently held by Kathy Tokach
- Sioux County director position presently held by Chad Harrison

No nominations are accepted from the floor at the annual meeting, according to the bylaws. Instead, the board of directors appoints a Nominating Committee of five to nine members to represent the cooperative. These members will provide a list of qualified and willing candidates to the board for approval and inclusion on the ballot at the board of directors meeting scheduled for Feb. 28, 2024.

Nominating Committee

The Nominating Committee (the committee) has been appointed by the board. The members of the

committee include Jennifer Bonogofsky, St. Anthony; Jackie Buckley, Mandan; Rosie Erhardt, Mandan; Glenda Gross, Selfridge; Garek Murphy, Fort Yates; Jim Neubauer, Mandan; Toby Olin, New Salem; Donald D. Roth, New Leipzig; and Yvonne Seidler, New Leipzig. The committee will meet for the first time at 7 p.m. CT Dec. 11 and another meeting has been scheduled for 7 p.m. CT Feb. 20, 2024.

For a person to be nominated, the member running for a board seat must submit the completed declaration of candidacy form to Mor- Gran-Sou Electric by 4 p.m. CT on Thursday, Feb. 15, 2024. All qualified and willing candidates who have completed and forwarded the declaration of candidacy form will be included in the list the committee will provide to the board.

Bylaws and resolutions for the annual meeting

Any proposed bylaw amendments and resolutions need to be presented to the member in writing before the annual meeting on June 13, 2024. Please submit any proposed bylaw amendments and resolutions in writing or present them in person by the February 20, 2024, deadline to the Nominating Committee to be considered at the annual meeting.

If you or someone you know is interested in being nominated for a board position or to submit a bylaw amendment or resolution, please refer to the information below for deadlines and further information.

MOR-GRAN-SOU ELECTRIC CANDIDACY, BYLAW AND RESOLUTION INFORMATION

DEADLINE INFORMATION

Dec. 11, 2023 – Initial Nominating Committee Meeting, 7 p.m. CT, Flasher

Feb. 15, 2024 – Declaration of candidacy, bylaw and resolution submission deadline, submitted by 4 p.m. CT to the Flasher or Mandan office

Feb. 20, 2024 – Final Nominating Committee

Meeting, 7 p.m. CT, Flasher

June 13, 2024 - Mor-Gran-Sou Electric annual meeting, Mandan

CONTACT INFORMATION

For board nominations, contact the Nominating Committee or Julie Armijo at Mor-Gran-Sou Electric.

Completed board declaration forms, bylaws and resolutions can be mailed to: Mor-Gran-Sou Electric Cooperative, P.O. Box 297, Flasher, ND, 58535-0297 or P.O. Box 1090, Mandan, ND, 58554-7090.

Forms can also be emailed to Julie at jarmijo@morgransou.com.

For additional information or questions, call Julie at 800-750-8212, 701-663-0297 or 701-597-3301.